Free Tools Mentioned In This Blog Post:
- Keyword Value Calculation Spreadsheet
- Buyer And Trigger Keyword List.
Both of these tools can be download by joining the Blog To Media Email List at the bottom of this Post.
Later on this post I will show you exactly how I calculate the value of a keyword and provide you template to do so as well. Before we do that though we need a good understanding of why this is important and how it works.
Search engine marketing is a big part of being successful online. Search engine marketing is a way to sale or get the word out about your products via search engines. In a traditional sense search engine marketing works the same way as other forms of advertising except it is online.
It works like this:
- Search engines are used to get targeted traffic
- You provide content that helps that targeted traffic get what they need
- You convert that traffic into profit
When you work with search engines you have your two types of traffic.
- Organic Search Traffic
- Paid Traffic
Organic search traffic is also known as free traffic. With free traffic you have to do well in the search engines. To do that you have to have to do the right keyword research, on page search engine optimization, and offsite SEO. So in a way you might not consider it free because it is going to take time and effort to get organic search traffic.
Paid traffic is exactly what it sounds like, traffic you pay for. This is typically done with pay per impression (CPM) or cost per click (CPC).
How To Use Keyword Research To Get Traffic & More Conversions
A big part of dominating the search engines is keyword research. It doesn’t matter whether you are creating niche websites or authority websites, choosing the right keywords is extremely important. A matter of fact, I consider it the most important step to get website traffic.
If I were to survey the majority of my readers one of the top 10 questions I would get would be how to get more traffic to my website.
I consider keyword research to be a fundamental part of online success and one of the first building blocks of a successful blog. Let me just tell you, I learned the hard way. When I first started out online I made a lot of mistakes.
My Keyword Research Failure
Without doing any keyword research I created my first authority website and started writing daily for this website. Traffic came and went, but it never increased like I wanted it to. At first I thought it was just part of starting a new website. Thinking that I had to be online for a while before people would start to visit my website.
The harsh lesson that I learned was that….. if no one is searching for the keywords you’re targeting no one’s gonna come to your website. That was the day I started to see improvements in my online adventures. No I did not immediately start making $100 a day but I learned one of the fundamentals of being successful online, keyword research!
Use Keyword Research To Find Your Target Audience
If you want to be successful online study keyword research and become an expert at it. All other aspects of running an online business will become easier if you become a keyword research expert.
The main goal with keyword research is finding keywords that will help you reach your target audience and convert those visitors. Keywords should be directly inline with your business goals and what your website is about because that is what will help you reach your target audience.
Getting traffic to your website is great, but unless they’re targeted there going to be a lot less likely to purchase your products, join your mailing list, or take action in general.
How To Generate A List Of Keywords For Your Blog
Before you begin doing your keyword research it is helpful to come up with a list of potential keywords that you think people would search to find your website. This will give you a nice starting point and jump start your the keyword research process. As you do your research you expand on this list. Finally, you narrow down that list to traffic getting and converting keywords.
When making your initial list of keywords don’t over think it. Just come up with the terms you think you’re most likely to get traffic to your website without going into a lot of depth and thought. Keep it simple at this point. We will let the keyword research tools do the hard work for us.
Part of good keyword research is thinking like a searcher. If you wanted to find your website in the search engines what would you search for? Thats a question you need to ask yourself when doing keyword research. This will help you think like the searcher and come up with some nice keywords.
A few notes about keyword research.
Don’t be afraid to get a little creative with some of your keywords as this might give you a competitive advantage over your competitors.
Remember that high traffic volume keywords are not always the best keywords. Sometimes they do not convert as well as lower traffic keywords and they’re also usually much more competitive.
How To Calculate The Value Of A Keyword
Keyword research is an extremely powerful tool for a blogger. In order to rank your blog well in search engines you will need a good understanding of how keyword research works. Most bloggers understand this and start researching keywords to target for their blog.
- A blogger sees a keyword that gets a lot of traffic
- They think they can rank for it fairly easy
And then……..unfortunately most bloggers stop at this point and begin preparing content and campaigns to start ranking for the keywords they discovered. One often overlooked yet valuable piece of information to consider before starting the process is calculating the value of the keyword you want to target.
Coming up with a value for a keyword is very important research to do for your blog. This can help you determine whether a keyword will be worth it for you to either try to rank for in Google, or, run a pay-per-click campaign on it.
Why waste time on creating content around a keyword that is not going to provide value and help move your blog forward?
Coming up with a keyword value is actually a pretty simple process. While it may not be exact you can get a pretty good understanding of whether a keyword will be valuable or not. This works for both organic search keyword targets and keywords you are targeting with a PPC campaign.
In order to value a keyword you are going to need some information.
- Traffic Volume
- Conversion Rate
- Value Per Conversion
- Cost per click (If you are using paid traffic)
Traffic Volume – Is the amount of traffic you expect to get from the keyword. This can be a tough one because some keywords will drive more traffic but will have a lower conversion rate. Keep in mind that the best keyword is not always the one that brings the most traffic.
Conversion Rate – the conversion rate refers to the percentage of traffic that takes a desired action. If you want someone to purchase your eBook you can calculate your conversion rate quite simply. If you have 100 visitors and 30 of them buy your eBook you have a 30% conversion rate or 30/100.
Value Per Conversion – The value per conversion is how much you make on each conversion. If your eBook is going for $7.00 than your value per conversion would be $7.00.
Creating your estimations can be a little bit tricky at first but with time you can fine tune your assumptions and have a realistic value for each keyword that you want to check. At first, you may have to estimate the amount of traffic, your conversion rate, and more. After a while however, you can track real results and then get a real understanding of the value of each keyword that you track.
Some marketers will actually run a PPC campaign just to get an idea of the value of a keyword and which keywords convert best. This will help them decide what keywords to target and whether or not they should try to rank them in the search engines organically or use a PPC campaign.
This method can save you a lot of time and money if you have the funds available to do it. If not, that’s OK, you can still get the same results by ranking for the keywords organically and analyzing them then.
With this in mind I wanted to put together a simple tool for other bloggers to use to calculate the value of keywords. You can download a free copy of the keyword value calculation spreadsheet to value keywords for your blog by joining the Blog To Media Email list at the bottom of this blog post.
So lets take a look at a few examples. In the first one we will use an organic search traffic example.
Keyword Value Calculation Organic Search
With the first example we are selling a $7.00 product that has a potential traffic volume of 2,500 visitors. An estimated conversion rate of 40% and a value per conversion of $7.00.
Since we are using organic search traffic we also have to consider the click through ratio of Google search results. The ratios provided on the screenshot above are Search rank click thru estimates and are based on research performed by Chitika.
Keyword Value Calculation Paid Traffic
In this second example we are going to use the same data but this time we will be using paid traffic with a cost per click of $1.15. See the screenshot below.
Note: In the two screenshots above the blue text is the inputs that you will put in and the spreadsheet will do the rest of the work for you. So with very little effort you can get a good idea of how valuable a keyword is.
As you start running your campaigns you can monitor things closer and plugin your actual conversion rate, search ranking, traffic volume and more. This will allow you to get an even better understanding how valuable a keyword is.
How To Find Profitable Keywords
The key to finding profitable keywords is using trigger words. These are the type of keywords that convert well. They are also known as buyer keywords. A few examples of buyer keywords are:
These types of keywords can convert really well because the person visiting your site is looking to buy that specific product. Combining trigger and buyer keywords with your keywords can be huge on your conversion rate. Download a list of high converting buyer keywords by joining the email list at the bottom of this post. This list contains over 100 buyer and trigger keywords that will help your conversion rate and make you more money.
Keyword Tools For Keyword Research
There are many keyword tools out their to help dig up keywords, find related keywords, traffic volume, cost per click, and more. Some better than others. I will list some of the popular tools to find profitable keywords.
Scrapebox - Scrapebox is more known as a black hat SEO automated commenting tool. Most people don’t understand the value this tool has for other purposes. Keyword research is one of those functions.
With Scrapebox you take a keyword or multiple keywords and it will find a list of related keywords. You can take your new list of keywords and repeat the same process until you have a massive list of related keywords. It will even let you remove duplicates, export and more.
WordTracker - Wordtracker is a very popular keyword tool to get a lot of results along with competition. Has both free (with limitations) and paid versions.
Google Keyword Planner – The Google Keyword Planner is the new version of the previous Google Adwords Keyword tool. Pretty effective tool to get a ton of keywords, related keywords, traffic volume, and estimated CPC.
Google Trends - While this isn’t what you would think of as a keyword tool it does help you find popular searches and how those searches have trended over a period of time.
Hopefully you feel comfortable with keyword research now. With the keyword value calculation spreadsheet and buyer keywords list you should on your way to finding profitable keywords. If you have any questions with any of this feel free to shoot me an email or contact me here.
Sign up for our email list below to download the keyword value calculation spreadsheet and the buyers keyword list.